Saint Marie of the Incarnation

 
 

Childhood:

Marie Guyart was born in France, in Tours, probably rue des Tanneurs. Her parents, Florent Guyart and Jeanne Michelet, were master bakers and had seven children. It was a Catholic home where children were encouraged to get an education. During the first three decades of her life, she lived among the artisans and middle-class merchants of Tours, where she lived for forty years, from her birth until her departure for Canada, from 1599 to 1639.

Youth, mystical graces

Little is known about her education. She attended school. She admits to having received a “good education” which “gave her a good grounding in all things Christian and in good morals. At the age of seven, she had her first mystical grace which led her to give herself to Christ. She then had a striking dream that she herself would recount much later (1653): “In my sleep, it seemed to me that I was in the courtyard of a country school, with one of my companions… When I looked up to heaven, I saw it open and Our Lord coming out of it, and he came to me through the air, and when I saw him, I cried out to my companion: ‘Ah, there is Our Lord! He is coming to me! […] My heart felt all ablaze with his love. I began to stretch out my arms to embrace him. Then he, the most beautiful of all the children of men, with a face full of sweetness and an unspeakable attraction, embracing me and kissing me lovingly, said to me: “Do you want to be mine?” I answered him: “Yes” – Then, having heard my consent, we saw him ascending to heaven”.

Around the age of 14, she was attracted to the cloistered life. She expressed her desire to enter the Benedictine nuns of Beaumont, a religious order established in the region. Her parents, who did not understand her aspiration to religious life, married her at 17 to the master silk worker Claude Martin. From their union Claude was born on April 1, 1619. Six months later, she was widowed at the age of 19 when the small factory went bankrupt. She found herself with assets to liquidate and debts on her hands, in addition to a child to raise. She decided to return to her father’s house. She was made to feel that a new marriage would solve her material problems. But the call of God and solitude was too strong.

On March 16, 1620, she had a mystical experience that she called her “conversion”: the irruption of Christ in her life. She confessed to the first religious she met and felt transformed. She aspired to a life of reclusion, but her sister Claude, married to Paul Buisson, a merchant, invited her to live with her in 1621. She accepted this offer to ensure her subsistence and that of her son. Marie wanted to lead a life of self-denial and servitude. However, her talents as an administrator were recognized and the couple hoped that she would help them consolidate their struggling river transport business. She sometimes took on the role of manager when the two bosses were out of town. In 1625, she was even entrusted with the management of the company. That same year, mystical graces led her to union with Christ. She could not enter religion because she had to raise her son Claude, but she already took a vow of chastity, poverty and obedience at that time. On January 25, 1631, she enters the Ursuline convent in Tours.

A mysterious vision of Canada:

A few years later, she had a mysterious vision. One night,” she reported, “I was shown in a dream that I was with a secular lady whom I had met by some means. She and I left the place of our ordinary residence. After many obstacles, we finally arrived at the entrance of a beautiful place at the entrance of which there was a man dressed in white and the shape of this habit as the Apostles are painted. He was the guardian of this place. He made us enter there. This place was delightful, it had no other opening than the sky, the silence was there which was part of its beauty. As I walked inside, I saw a small church on which the Blessed Virgin was sitting holding her little Jesus in her arms. This place was very eminent, at the bottom of which there was a big and vast country full of mountains, valleys and thick fogs which filled all. The Blessed Virgin, Mother of God, looked at this country as pitiful as it was frightful. It seemed to me that she was speaking to her blessed Child about this country and about me, and that she had some purpose about me. She kissed me three times, filling my soul with her caresses with an unction and sweetness that is unspeakable.”

This vision aroused in the heart of our ursuline an intense apostolic ardor: from her cloister, she went to do all she could to obtain the salvation of souls who were in the wilderness. It was only in January 1635 that she learned the meaning of the dream of Christmas 1633: “While I was in prayer before the Blessed Sacrament, this adorable Majesty said to me these words: ‘It is Canada that I have shown you; you must go there to make a home for Jesus and Mary. ”In the same way, she learned that the guardian of the country she had seen was Saint Joseph.

Canada! Until that day she thought it was a mythical country invented to scare unruly children. And now she finds herself chosen to go and found a house there!

Missionary nun in Quebec City

Finally, her meeting with another woman, rich and pious, Madeleine de la Peltrie, was to be decisive because she obtained the necessary funds to found her monastery in Quebec City. In 1639, she left with two other Ursulines, Marie Madeleine de la Peltrie and a servant, Charlotte Barré, to found a monastery in Quebec City. The objective was to provide instruction to the little Amerindian girls. She tried to convert to Catholicism the girls who were entrusted to her: first the Montagnais and Abenaki, then the Huron and Iroquois.

However, they will have difficulty in francizing the Amerindian girls who sometimes resist assimilation. With the demographic decline that disrupted the Amerindian population and the growing reluctance of Amerindian parents to entrust their daughters to the Ursulines, Marie de l’Incarnation had to move away from her role as a missionary to devote herself more to the instruction of the French girls of the colony.

Even though she was cloistered, Marie de l’Incarnation played an active role in the life of the colony. In 1663, she witnessed an earthquake in Quebec City. She recounts the event in the abundant correspondence she has with her son. The Ursuline saw in the catastrophe a sign from God punishing the trade in alcohol between the colonists and the Amerindians. She was also involved in an epidemic of pox that hit the native peoples hard: her monastery was transformed into a hospital on several occasions. She also comments extensively on the Franco-Iroquois wars and the destruction of Huronia.

Marie de l’Incarnation, through her writings, is considered by many historians to be the author of the first mention in French, and no longer in Latin, of the Canadian identity of the colonists, by virtue of a letter dated October 16th 1666.

Death:

She died of old age on April 30, 1672 in Quebec City at the age of 72. She was associated with the life of the small French colony founded in Quebec City in 1608, which without her and her companions would hardly have survived. Her tomb is located in the Ursuline Chapel at 12 Donnacona Street, Quebec City, Canada.

Sainte Marie de l’Incarnation

 
 

Enfance:

Marie Guyart est née en France, à Tours, probablement rue des Tanneurs. Ses parents, Florent Guyart et Jeanne Michelet, sont maîtres-boulangers et ils ont eu sept enfants. C’est un foyer catholique où les enfants sont encouragés à s’instruire. Au cours des trois premières décennies de sa vie, elle vivra au sein du monde des artisans et de la moyenne bourgeoisie commerçante de Tours.Elle y a vécu quarante ans, de sa naissance jusqu’à son départ vers le Canada, soit de 1599  à 1639.

 

Jeunesse, grâces mystiques

On sait peu de choses précises de son éducation. Elle fréquenta l’école. Elle avoue avoir reçu une « bonne éducation » qui lui « avait fait un bon fonds dans [s]on âme pour toutes les choses du christianisme et pour les bonnes mœurs ». À l’âge de sept ans, elle a une première grâce mystique qui la conduit à se donner au Christ. Elle fait alors un rêve marquant qu’elle racontera elle-même bien plus tard (1653) : « En mon sommeil, il me sembla que j’étais dans la cour d’une école champêtre, avec quelqu’une de mes compagnes… Ayant les yeux levés vers le ciel, je le vis ouvert et Notre-Seigneur… en sortir et qui par l’air venait à moi qui, le voyant, m’écriai à ma compagne : “Ah! Voilà Notre-Seigneur ! C’est à moi qu’il vient !” […] Mon cœur se sentit tout embrasé de son amour. Je commençai à étendre mes bras pour l’embrasser. Lors, lui, le plus beau de tous les enfants des hommes, avec un visage plein d’une douceur et d’un attrait indicible, m’embrassant et me baisant amoureusement me dit : “Voulez-vous être à moi?” Je lui répondis : “Oui” — Lors, ayant ouï mon consentement, nous le vîmes remonter au ciel ».

Vers l’âge de 14 ans, elle est attirée par la vie cloîtrée. Elle manifeste son désir d’entrer chez les bénédictines de Beaumont, un ordre religieux établi dans la région. Ses parents, qui ne comprennent pas son aspiration à la vie religieuse, la marient à 17 ans avec le maître ouvrier en soie Claude Martin. De leur union naîtra Claude le . Six mois plus tard, elle devient veuve à 19 ans alors que la petite fabrique est en faillite. Elle se retrouve avec des biens à liquider et des dettes sur les bras, en plus d’un enfant à élever. Elle décide de retourner chez son père. On lui fait sentir qu’un nouveau mariage réglerait ses problèmes matériels. Mais l’appel de Dieu et de la solitude est bien trop fort.

Le , elle vit une expérience mystique qu’elle appelle sa « conversion » : l’irruption du Christ dans sa vie. Elle se confesse au premier religieux qu’elle rencontre et se sent transformée. Elle aspire à une vie de recluse, mais sa sœur Claude, mariée à Paul Buisson, marchand, l’invite en 1621 à vivre chez elle. Elle accepte cette offre pour assurer sa subsistance et celle de son fils. Marie désire y mener une vie d’abnégation et de servitude. Pourtant, ses talents d’administratrice sont reconnus et le couple espère qu’elle les aidera à consolider leur entreprise de transport fluvial en difficulté. Elle prend parfois le rôle de gérante lorsque les deux patrons en titre sont hors de la ville. On ira jusqu’à lui confier la direction de l’entreprise en 1625. Cette même année, les grâces mystiques la conduisent à l’union au Christ. Elle ne peut entrer en religion parce qu’elle doit élever son fils Claude, mais elle fait déjà à cette époque vœu de chasteté, de pauvreté et d’obéissance. Le 25 janvier 1631, elle entre au couvent des Ursulines de Tours.

Vision mystérieuse du Canada:

Quelques années plus tard, elle eut une vision mystérieuse. « Une nuit, rapportera-t-elle, il me fut représenté en songe que j’étais avec une dame séculière que j’avais rencontrée par je ne sais quelle voie. Elle et moi quittâmes le lieu de notre demeure ordinaire. Après bien des obstacles, enfin nous arrivâmes à l’entrée d’une belle place à l’entrée de laquelle il y avait un homme vêtu de blanc et la forme de cet habit comme on peint les Apôtres. Il était le gardien de ce lieu. Il nous y fit entrer. Ce lieu était ravissant, il n’avait point d’autre ouverture que le ciel, le silence y était qui faisait partie de sa beauté. J’avançais dedans, j’aperçus une petite église sur laquelle la Sainte Vierge était assise qui tenait son petit Jésus entre ses bras. Ce lieu était très éminent, au bas duquel il y avait un grand et vaste pays plein de montagnes, de vallées et de brouillards épais qui remplissaient tout. La Sainte Vierge, Mère de Dieu, regardait ce pays autant pitoyable qu’effroyable. Il me semblait qu’elle parlait à son béni Enfant de ce pays et de moi et qu’elle avait quelque dessein à mon sujet. Elle me baisa par trois fois, remplissant mon âme par ses caresses d’une onction et d’une douceur qui est indicible. »

Cette vision soulève dans le cœur de notre ursuline une intense ardeur apostolique : de son cloître, elle va faire tout ce qu’elle peut pour obtenir le salut des âmes qui sont dans les régions sauvages entrevues. Ce n’est qu’en janvier 1635 qu’elle apprend le sens du songe de Noël 1633 : « Étant en oraison devant le Saint-Sacrement, cette adorable Majesté me dit ces paroles : “ C’est le Canada que je t’ai fait voir, il faut que tu y ailles faire une maison à Jésus et à Marie. ” » De la même manière, elle apprend que le gardien du pays entrevu est saint Joseph.

Le Canada ! Jusqu’à ce jour elle croyait qu’il s’agissait d’un pays mythique inventé pour faire peur aux enfants turbulents. Et voici qu’elle se trouve à présent choisie pour y aller fonder une maison !

Religieuse missionnaire à Québec

Finalement, sa rencontre avec une autre femme, riche et pieuse, Madeleine de la Peltrie, sera déterminante car elle obtiendra les fonds nécessaires à la fondation de son monastère à Québec. En 1639, elle part avec deux autres Ursulines, Marie Madeleine de la Peltrie et une servante, Charlotte Barré, pour fonder un monastère à Québec. L’objectif est de veiller à l’instruction des petites Amérindiennes. Elle cherche à convertir au catholicisme les filles qui lui sont confiées : d’abord les Montagnaises et les Abénaquises, puis les Huronnes et les Iroquoises.

Pourtant, elles auront de la difficulté à franciser les Amérindiennes qui résistent parfois à l’assimilation. Avec le déclin démographique qui bouleverse la population amérindienne et une réticence de plus en plus grande des parents amérindiens à confier leurs filles aux Ursulines, Marie de l’Incarnation devra s’éloigner de son rôle de missionnaire pour se consacrer davantage à l’instruction des jeunes filles françaises de la colonie.

Même si elle est cloîtrée, Marie de l’Incarnation joue un rôle actif dans la vie de la colonie. En 1663, elle est témoin d’un tremblement de terre à Québec. Elle narre l’événement dans l’abondante correspondance qu’elle a avec son fils. L’ursuline voit dans la catastrophe un signe de Dieu punissant le commerce d’alcool entre les colons et les Amérindiens. Elle se voit aussi mêlée à une épidémie de vérole qui atteint durement les peuples autochtones : son monastère se voit transformé en hôpital à quelques reprises. Elle commente aussi abondamment les guerres franco-iroquoises et la destruction de la Huronnie.

Marie de l’Incarnation, par ses écrits, est considérée par plusieurs historiens comme étant l’auteur de la première mention en français, et non plus en latin, de l’identité canadienne des colons, en vertu d’une lettre datée du 16 octobre 1666.

Décès:

Elle meurt de vieillesse le 30 avril 1672 à Québec à l’âge de 72 ans. Elle est associée à la vie de la petite colonie française fondée à Québec, en 1608, qui, sans elle et ses compagnes, aurait difficilement survécu. Son tombeau se trouve dans la chapelle des Ursulines 12, rue Donnacona, Québec (Qc), Canada.