The Miraculous Pietà in Ponteix, Saskatchewan

 
 

A statue that escaped the French Revolution:

The parish church of Notre-Dame d’Auvergne in Ponteix, Saskatchewan, houses a miraculous statue of the Blessed Virgin. The statue, which dates back to the 15th century, is made of oak and depicts the grieving Mother with her Divine Son in her arms after he was taken down from the cross.

This statue of Mary originated in France. It was brought to Canada after the French Revolution. Originally covered with gold leaf, the statue was hidden in a pile of straw by peasants during the Revolution. The statue became the property of Canon Teytard of Aubiere d’Auvergne, France, who later gave it to Father Albert Royer, who was his curate from 1885 to 1890.

Departure for Canada:

A little later, Father Royer was appointed parish priest of Ponteix, a small village in France in the commune of Aydat. After the 19th century, the desire to found a parish in honor of the Virgin Mary nagged at Father Royer. He first went to prospect in Algeria. But he read an article by Father Gaire who praised the great Canadian prairies. He convinced some of his parishioners from Auvergne to follow him in the adventure. The Reverend Father Albert Royer passed on his statue to Mr. Shoefer who also left to settle in Saskatchewan.

Difficult installation:

Father Royer founded a first village in Saskatchewan in 1908, which he named Notre-Dame d’Auvergne. Five years later, the village moved further south when the Canadian Pacific Railway established a railroad. After this move, the community was renamed Ponteix after the name of the priest’s parish in France.

A church was quickly built in which the statue was to be installed. Due to an error on the part of the shipping company, the statue of Notre-Dame d’Auvergne was not immediately shipped to Canada. It was returned to France from North America, only to be shipped back to Canada. It took about two years for it to arrive in Saskatchewan. It was later placed above the high altar of the first church in Ponteix in 1909.

Father Royer died in 1922 near his parishioners of many origins. His memory marked his contemporaries, and even today, one cannot speak of Ponteix in Saskatchewan without referring to Father Royer and his work. The year after his death, the second church of Notre-Dame d’Auvergne was destroyed by fire. Fortunately, two boys narrowly saved the statue from the fire that completely destroyed the church building. They carried it through a window in the basement of the church. Everything was lost, absolutely everything, except for one item and that was the Madonna,” recalls Laurent Desrosiers.

Pilgrimages begin:

A third church was built. It is this 1930 brick building that currently houses the statue, but public pilgrimages did not begin until 1934. The 1930s were a particularly difficult time for the people of Saskatchewan. Therefore, in 1934, Bishop A. Melanson, Bishop of Gravelbourg, asked his faithful to make a pilgrimage to ask Our Lady for special help during the drought years of the Depression. Several thousand pilgrims answered the call by visiting her shrine on July 16, 1936 in Ponteix. The shrine remained one of two pilgrimage sites in the Diocese of Gravelbourg, and is credited with at least one miracle.

Some ex-votos:

On the walls of the church, about 20 plaques of thanks are hung for the various favors she granted, such as healings.

 

Sources:

https://ici.radio-canada.ca/nouvelle/1227992/pelerinage-ponteix-statue-vierge-miraculeuse-pieta

www.saskhistory.ca/shrine-ponteix-our-lady-of-auvergne-shrine-1934/

La Pietà miraculeuse à Ponteix en Saskatchewan

 
 

Une statue qui échappa à la Révolution française :

L’église paroissiale de Notre-Dame d’Auvergne, à Ponteix, en Saskatchewan, abrite une statue miraculeuse de la Sainte Vierge. La statue, qui date du 15e siècle, est faite en chêne, et elle représente la Mère éplorée et son Divin Fils dans ses bras, après que celui-ci fut descendu de la croix.

Cette statue de Marie est originaire de France. Elle fut apportée au Canada après la Révolution française. À l’origine recouverte de feuilles d’or, la statue fut cachée dans un tas de paille par des paysans pendant la Révolution. La statue devint la propriété du chanoine Teytard d’Aubiere d’Auvergne en France qui, plus tard, la donnera à l’abbé Albert Royer, qui était son vicaire de 1885 à 1890.

Départ pour le Canada :

Un peu plus tard, l’abbé Royer fut nommé curé de Ponteix, un petit village de France dans la commune d’Aydat. Passé le 19e siècle, l’envie de fonder une paroisse en l’honneur de la Vierge Marie taraude l’abbé Royer. Il va d’abord prospecter en Algérie. Mais, il lira un article de l’abbé Gaire qui vantait les grandes prairies canadiennes. Il convainquit quelques-uns de ses paroissiens auvergnats à le suivre dans l’aventure. Le Révérend Père Albert Royer transmis sa statue à Monsieur Shoefer qui partait aussi s’installer en Saskatchewan.

Installation difficile :

L’abbé Royer fonda un premier village en Saskatchewan en 1908, qu’il nomma Notre-Dame d’Auvergne. Cinq ans plus tard, le village déménagea plus au sud lorsque le Canadien pacifique établit un chemin de fer. Après ce déménagement, la localité est rebaptisée Ponteix selon le nom de la paroisse du prêtre en France.

On fit rapidement construire une église dans laquelle on voulait installer la statue. Par une erreur de la compagnie maritime, la statue de Notre-Dame d’Auvergne ne fut pas immédiatement expédiée au Canada. Elle revint en France depuis l’Amérique du Nord, pour ensuite être renvoyée au Canada. Il lui fallut environ deux ans avant d’arriver en Saskatchewan. Elle fut par la suite placée au-dessus du maître-autel de la première église de Ponteix en 1909.

L’abbé Royer mourut en 1922 près de ses paroissiens aux multiples origines. Son souvenir marqua ses contemporains, et aujourd’hui encore, on ne peut parler de Ponteix en Saskatchewan sans faire référence à l’abbé Royer et à son œuvre. L’année qui suivait son décès, la deuxième église de Notre-Dame d’Auvergne fut détruite par un incendie. Heureusement, deux garçons sauvèrent de justesse la statue de l’incendie qui détruisit complètement l’édifice religieux. Ils l’ont portée à travers une fenêtre du sous-sol de l’église. Tout a été perdu, absolument tout, sauf un article et c’est la Madone, se souvient Laurent Desrosiers.

Début des pèlerinages :

Une troisième église fut construite. C’est cet édifice en briques de 1930 qui abrite actuellement la statue, mais les pèlerinages publics n’ont pas commencé avant 1934. Les années 1930s furent particulièrement difficile pour la population de Saskatchewan. C’est pourquoi, en 1934, Monseigneur A. Melanson, évêque de Gravelbourg, demanda à ses fidèles de faire un pèlerinage pour demander à la Vierge une aide spéciale pendant les années de sécheresse de la Dépression. Plusieurs milliers de pèlerins répondirent à l’appel en visitant son sanctuaire le 16 juillet 1936 à Ponteix. Le sanctuaire demeura l’un des deux lieux de pèlerinage du diocèse de Gravelbourg, et on lui attribue au moins un miracle.

Des ex-votos:

Sur les murs de l’église, une vingtaine de plaques de remerciements sont accrochées pour les différentes faveurs qu’elle a accordées, par exemple des guérisons.

 
 

 

Sources:

https://ici.radio-canada.ca/nouvelle/1227992/pelerinage-ponteix-statue-vierge-miraculeuse-pieta

www.saskhistory.ca/shrine-ponteix-our-lady-of-auvergne-shrine-1934/