Canada’s first martyrs

 
 

Originally from the diocese and territory of Coutances, Brother Nicolas Viel entered the Recollets of the province of Paris in 1598 and became a priest around 1603. He left Paris as a missionary in Canada on March 18, 1623 with Brother Gabriel Sagard and arrived in Quebec City on June 28, after three months and six days of sailing. On July 16, the two religious and Father Joseph Le Caron reached Cap de la Victoire (today Sorel), a meeting place for the Huron, Algonquin and French trade. On August 2, they left for Huronia in three different canoes and settled at Caragouha.

Le Caron and Sagard returned to Québec in the summer of 1624, while Viel stayed with nine Frenchmen, and learned the Huron language which allowed him to complete Father Le Caron’s dictionary. According to the accounts of Sagard, Jean de Brébeuf, Le Clerc, and Paul Le Jeune, on June 25, 1625, as he reached Québec, the three Indians who accompanied him in the canoe threw him into the water at the last jump of the Rivière des Prairies. He died by drowning, as did his Huron companion, nicknamed Ahuntsic, who was following him in another boat. His body was recovered a few days later and buried in Quebec City.

The church of the Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built of fieldstone between 1749 and 1751, near the martyrdom site of Nicolas Viel and Ahuntsic. It is the oldest church in Montreal still standing.

 
 

Sources:

Les premiers martyrs du Canada

Originaire du diocèse et territoire de Coutances, Le frère Nicolas Viel entre chez les Récollets de la province de Paris en 1598 et devient prêtre vers 1603. Il quitte Paris comme missionnaire au Canada le 18 mars 1623 avec le frère Gabriel Sagard et arrive à Québec le 28 juin, après trois mois et six jours de navigation. Dès le 16 juillet, les deux religieux et le père Joseph Le Caron rejoignent le Cap de la Victoire (aujourd’hui Sorel), lieu de rencontre pour la traite entre Hurons, Algonquins et Français. Le 2 août, ils partent en Huronie dans trois canots différents et s’installent à Caragouha.

Le Caron et Sagard reviennent à Québec à l’été 1624, tandis que Viel reste avec neuf Français, et apprend la langue huronne ce qui lui permet de compléter le dictionnaire du père Le Caron. Selon les récits de Sagard, Jean de Brébeuf, Le Clerc, et Paul Le Jeune, le 25 juin 1625, alors qu’il rejoint Québec, les trois Indiens qui l’accompagnent à bord du canot le jettent à l’eau au dernier saut de la rivière des Prairies. Il meurt noyé, comme son compagnon huron surnommé Ahuntsic, qui le suivait dans une autre embarcation. Son corps, repêché quelques jours plus tard, est inhumé à Québec.

L’église de la Visitation de la Bienheureuse-Vierge-Marie fut construite en pierres des champs entre 1749 et 1751, près du lieu de martyre de Nicolas Viel et Ahuntsic. Elle est la plus ancienne église de Montréal encore debout.

 
 

Sources: